Senators-Elect, Members-Elect In A’Ibom To Collect Certificate Of Return On Thursday, March 14

Chris Ekpenyong
Chris Ekpenyong

By: Israel Umoh

The three Senators-elect and 10 members-elect from Akwa Ibom State have been invited by the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC to join their colleagues nationwide to collect their certificates.

A letter signed by Rose Orianran-Anthony, secretary to the commission, invited successful candidates in the February 23 National Assembly election to the ceremony to be held at Main Hall (Africa Hall) International Conference Centre, Abuja at 10 a.m. on Thursday, March 14, 2019.

The letter said that Senators-elect will collect their certificates at 10 a.m while members-elect for the House of Representatives will collect theirs at 2 p.m.

“All National Assembly members-elect are required to come along with photo-identification, such as Permanent Voters Cards, Nigerian Drivers licence, National Identity Card or International Passport.

“Each member is entitled to be accompanied by a maximum of five (5 guests while the National Chairman and National Secretary of political party that sponsored members-elect are also invited,” the letter said.

Before this, Barr. Mike Igini, the resident electoral Commissioner for Akwa Ibom State had duly signed the results, indicating the winners and losers of all the political parties during the National Assembly election.

For example, for Akwa Ibom North West, Senator Godswill Obot Akpabio of All Progressives Congress, APC, failed to be re-elected. Akpabio, a two-time Akwa Ibom governor polled a paltry 83,158 votes to be defeated by his challenger, Obong Christopher Stephen Ekpenyong of Peoples Democratic Party, PDP also a one-time Akwa Ibom deputy governor who scored 118,215 votes.

For Akwa Ibom North East, Senator Bassey Albert Akpan, a one-time state Commissioner for Finance was re-elected. Akpan of polled 147,731 votes to floor Rt. Hon. Bassey Effiong Etim of APC and a one-time representative of Uyo Federal Constituency who scored 60,930 votes.

In Akwa Ibom South, Senator Nelson Asuquo Effiong of APC failed re-election bid after polling 44,053 votes while his closest rival, Dr. Akon Etim Eyakenyi of PDP scored 122,412 votes to be declared a winner by INEC. Effiong is a one-time speaker of Akwa Ibom House of Assembly while Eyakenyi is the immediate past chairman of Akwa Ibom State Polytechnic Governing Council and a one-time Commissioner for Commerce and Industry.

In Abak/Etim Ekpo/Ika Federal Constituency, Aniekan Umanah, a one-time Commissioner for Information and Communications in the state slugged out with Rt. Hon. Emmanuel Ekon of All Progressives Congress, APC. Umanah of Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, polled 31,720 votes to clip the third ambition of  Ekon who scored 13,495 votes in the lower House.

In Ukanafun/Oruk Anam Federal Constituency, Mr. Unyime Josiah Idem, the biggest telecoms service partner in Nigeria retired the incumbent, Emmanuel Isaac Ukoete of the APC from the House. Idem of PDP scored 57,443 votes against 17,190 votes garnered by Ukoete to consign him to political dustbin.

Onofiok Luke
Onofiok Luke

The Speaker of Akwa Ibom State House of Assembly Rt. Hon. (Barr.) Onofiok Akpan Luke emerged the winner to represent Etinan/Nsit Ubium/Nsit Ibom Federal Constituency in the House of Representatives. Luke of PDP scored 44,833 votes sent Rt. Hon. Dan Effiong Akpan of APC now with PDP who scored 15,800 votes packing.

The INEC declared Patrick Nathan Ifon as winner for Eket/Onna/Esit Eket/Ibeno. Ifon, a one-time Onna chairman had earlier outfoxed Rt. Hon. Owoidighe Ekpoattai, member of House of Representatives. Thereafter, he entered the race boldly, polled 61,580 votes to crush his closest rival, Alex Akpabio Kufre of the APC, who scored 11,263.

Dr. Henry Okon Archibong of PDP was re-elected for Itu/Ibiono. He taught a hard-fighting opponent, Barr. Edet Ikotidem of APC a lesson. He polled 41,459 votes against 18,638 votes scored by Ikotidem.

Hon.Nse Ekpenyong of PDP floored Victor Antai of APC to represent Oron/Mbo/Okobo/Udung Uko/Urue Offong/Oruko Federal Constituency. However, Ekpenyong’s name is in the supplementary list of INEC’s website due to the election that was violence resulting in election being declared inconclusive in Urue- Offong/Oruko local government area.

Hon. Nsikak Okon Ekong under PDP thrashed Rt. Hon. Emmanuel Akpan of APC who was seeking for a second term in the Ikot Ekpene/Essien Udim/Obot Akara Federal Constituency. Ekong who represented Ikot Ekpene/Obot Akara State constituency twice in the House of Assembly polled 17,849 votes while Akpan got 11,181 votes.

Hon. Charles Uduyor Francis of PDP was re-elected to have cut short the ambition of Rt. Hon. Bernard Ambrose Udoh of APC who would have succeeded in representing Ikot Abasi/Mkpat Enin/Eastern Obolo Federal Constituency for a fourth time in the Green chambers. He scored 31,465 votes against 11,026 votes polled by Udoh.

For Ikono/Ini Federal constituency, Emmanuel Ukpong-Udo Effiong also known as Mcaire of PDP polled 21,422 votes to beat Barr. Edidiong Effiong Idiong of APC seen as a political under dog in the area who got 7,831 votes.

Also, Mike Okon Enyong of PDP, an incumbent defeated Ekerete Edem Ekpenyong of APC and a one-time Uyo local government chairman to speak for the people of Uyo/Uruan/Nsit Atai/Ibesikpo Asutan Federal Constituency. Enyong popularly known as Baba Ntan polled 57,712 while Ekpenyong scored 10,955 votes.