Salah, Kgatlana Win 2018 African Player, Women’s Player Crowns

Mohammed Salah
Mohammed Salah

The 26-year-old Liverpool star has retained the African Player of the Year Award, after garnering majority of the votes cast.

Mohamed Salah, the Egyptian international beat Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, the 2015 African Player of the Year winner and Sadio Mane to win the crown, dedicated the award to Egypt.

South AfricanThembi Kgatlana who won the 2018 African Women’s Player of the Year Award dedicated the award to her country.

Nigeria were named the Women’s National Team of the Year after clinching the Africa Women’s Cup of Nations, while Mauritania claimed the Men’s National Team of the Year award.

CAF Team of the Year:

Team of the Year: Denis Onyango, Serge Aurier, Medhi Benatia, Eric Bailly, Kalidou Koulibaly, Thomas Partey, Naby Keita, Riyad Mahrez, Sadio Mane, Mohamed Salah, Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang.

Awards winners in full:

Women’s National Team of the Year: Nigeria

Men’s National Team of the Year: Mauritania

Women’s Coach Of the Year: Desiree Ellis (South Africa)

Men’s Coach of the Year: Herve Renard (Morocco)

Youth Player of the Year: Achraf Hakimi (Morocco & Borussia Dortmund)

The AITEO CAF awards ceremony held in Dakar, Senegal capital was attended by FIFA President, Gianni Infantino.