Rangers Beat Kano Pillars 4-2 On Penalties, Become 2018 Aiteo Champions

Enugu Rangers
Enugu Rangers

After a hard come-back, Enugu Rangers from a 3-3 draw defeated Kano Pillars 4-2 on penalties to become the 2018 reigning Aiteo Cup champions.

Kano Pillars were leading Rangers in 3-0 goals up to 76th minute of the final of the 2018 Aiteo Cup played on Wednesday, October 24 at the Stephen Keshi Stadium in Asaba, Delta state.

To qualify for final, Kano Pillars had beaten Katsina United, while Rangers defeated Akwa United to book their places in the final.

The game started at a high tempo with Kano Pillars taking the lead as early as the fifth minute when veteran Rabiu Ali fired in a ball through to him by Nwagua into the net.

One goal became two as Ibrahim Alhassan’s corner kick is pushed in by Rangers goal-keeper, Femi Thomas in the 20th minute.

The game ended 2-0 to Kano Pillars at Rangers went into the half-time break with a mountain to climb.

Two goals became three at the start of the second half as Nyima Nwagua scored the third for Rangers just after resumption.

Kelvin Itoya gave Rangers some hope when he scored a screamer in the 77th minute.

Chidera Ezeh gave the Flying Antelopes a lifeline when he scored the second goal for Rangers in the 82nd minute.

Ajani Ibrahim produced an unbelievable effort to level the scores and send the game to penalties after additional time.