Presidency Rewards Driver, 9 Others For Outstanding Performance

Muhammadu Buhari
Muhammadu Buhari

The Presidency Thursday, rewarded 10 of its staffers for outstanding performance for 2018.

The workers who received an undisclosed cash gift and plaque from the Permanent Secretary, State House, Mr Jalal Arabi, were recognised for outstanding works in administration, stores management, catering, library, transportation and medical departments.

One of the recipients, Mr Yashim Nuhu, a Senior Motor Driver Mechanic II on Grade Level 5 in the Transport department bagged the Outstanding Driver award.

Nuhu, who has put in eight years in State House, is very popular for his cordiality and enviable sense of dedication to duty among staff and journalists covering the seat of power.

In his citation read at the ceremony, “His main schedule of driving shuttle bus makes it imperative for him to play the role of a first contact person to many highly placed visitors to State House and staff alike.”

Another recipient, Mr Gwaza Habila, a Principal Catering Officer on Grade Level 12, has put in 19 years and catered for prominent State guests, including Her Royal Majesty, Queen Elizabeth II, the Queen of England during a State Visit in 2003.

Habila was given the ‘‘Outstanding Catering Staff’’ Award and was praised for his ‘‘hardwork and effectiveness at Presidential functions’’ as well as imparting knowledge to his subordinates.

One of the two female recipients, Mrs Margaret Arigu, a Principal Executive Officer II, in the State House Medical Center, was decorated with ‘‘Outstanding Medical Registry Staff.’’

Arigu who has served for 23 years in the State House Clinic, all in the Medical Centre, received encomiums for being ‘‘very professional, courteous, respectful to staff and clients alike.’’

Other award recipients were Mr Ogba Ukpabi (Evergreen Outstanding Contributor to SERVICOM Unit), Mr Olutayo Fasipe (Outstanding SERVICOM Departmental Representative), Mr Abubakar Wambai (Outstanding Stores Staff) and Mr Rilwan Badega (Outstanding Library Staff).

Others are Mr Mohammed qAbdulkarim (Outstanding Finance and Accounts Staff), Mr Samuel Arigu (Outstanding Registry Staff), and Mrs Christiana Kontekopo (Outstanding Staff Canteen Staff).