Pensions To Ex-Governors, Deputies: 4 Ministers, 21 Senators Enjoy Double Payments

The 36 states in Nigeria are said to be coughing up more than N40 billion to pay monthly pensions to former governors, deputy governors and in some states, widows of ex-governors, Straightnews has gathered.

The African Centre for Leadership and Development (ACLD) has alleged that 21 Senators and four ministers are currently receiving salaries from their states as former governors, deputy governors, while they are serving as ministers and members of the National Assembly.

The Tribune reports that the programme director, ACLD, Victoria Ose Udoh, made the disclosure on Thursday, May 17, at a one-day workshop on salaries and emoluments of National Assembly members held at Regview Hotel, Kaduna.

The group listed those allegedly collecting double salaries to include:

1. Senate president, Bukola Saraki

2. Rabiu Kwankwaso

3. Kabir Gaya

4. Godswill Akpabio

5. Theodore Orji

6. Abdullahi Adamu

7. Sam Egwu

8. Shaaba Lafiagi

9. Joshua Dariye

10. Jonah Jang

11.Ahmed Sani Yarima

12. Danjuma Goje

13. Bukar Abba

14. Adamu Aliero

15. George Akume

16. Miss Biodun Olujimi

17. Enyinaya Abaribe

18. Rotimi Amaechi

19. Kayode Fayemi

20. Chris Ngige

21. Babatunde Fashola

Udoh stated that a former governor in Lagos enjoys the following benefits for life: two houses, one in Lagos and Abuja estimated to cost between N500 million and N700 million, 300% of annual salary to be paid every two years and N2.5 million pension, among others.

She said “In Akwa Ibom State, the law provides for N200 million annual pay for former governors. Similarly, in Kano, the law provides for 100 per cent of annual basic salaries, six-bedroom house and a 30-day vacation within and outside the country.

“In Gombe state, there is N300 million executive pension benefits for ex-governors. In Kwara, 300 per cent of his salary as furniture allowance, five personal staff. In Sokoto, a former governor receives N200 million as his entitlements.”

READ ALSO:  Kaduna Varsity Suspends Lecturer Involved In Sex-For-Grade Scandal

However, Senate President Bukola Saraki had hailed the Kwara state House of Assembly for the passage of law to stop salaries for former governors and their deputies in the state.

The Kwara state house of assembly had on Tuesday, February 27, 2018 passed an amendment bill halting payment of pension to former governors, deputy governors and other officers holding political offices after their tenure in office.