Kalu, Abaribe, Abdullahi, Borofice, Join Senate Leadership

Senator Orji Uzor Kalu
Senator Orji Uzor Kalu

The Senate President, Ahmed Lawan, Tuesday, announced a list of principal officers  for the ninth Senate.

They are Orji Uzor Kalu, former Governor of Abia State along with the senator representing Abia Central, Enyinnaya Abaribe, Yahaya Abdullahi (APC, Kebbi) and Ajayi Borrofice (APC, Ondo).

After reading separate letters sent by the national chairman of the All Progressive Congress (APC) and Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) respectively at the plenary, the Lawan announced Orji Uzor Kalu, as the new chief whip and Aliyu Abdullahi (APC, Niger), the deputy chief whip. Abdullahi, on the other hand, was named Senate leader while Ajayi Borrofice (APC, Ondo) was named the Senate deputy leader.
Others are Enyinnaya Abaribe, was named the minority leader while Emmanuel Bwacha (PDP, Taraba) was announced the deputy minority leader. Philip Aduda, the senator representing Federal Capital Territory, (FCT) was named minority whip and Sahabi Yau (PDP, Zamfara) was announced the deputy minority whip.