Lawan, Omo-Agege Emerge As Senate President, Deputy Senate President

Ahmad Lawan, Ovie Omo-Agege
Ahmad Lawan, Ovie Omo-Agege

Senator Ahmed Lawan, representing Yobe North has been announced as Nigeria’s Senate President.

Lawan polled 79 votes to beat his closest rival, Ali Ndume, who packed 28 votes.

The election of Senate President was held at the first session of the Senate on Tuesday.

After a secret ballot voting, Mohammed Sani-Omolori, the clerk to the National Assembly, announced Mr Lawan’s victory to the cheers of Senators and others in the chamber.

Mr Sani-Omolori said 107 senators cast their votes.

“It is my pleasure to announce that Senator elect, Ahmed Lawan, having scored the highest number of total votes cast is hereby returned duly elected as Senate President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria,” he said.

Both Lawan and Ndume are from the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC).

Lawan’s nomination was moved by Senator Yahaya Abdullahi and seconded by Adeola Olamilaken of Lagos West.

Meanwhile, Ovie Omo-Agege representing in Delta Central Senatorial District in Edo State has been elected the Deputy Senate President.

He polled 68 votes to floor Senator Ike Ekweremadu representing Enugu West who garnered 37 votes.

Senator Baba Kaita (APC, Katsina North) nominated Senator Ovie Omo-Agege (APC, Delta Central) as Deputy Senate President while Senator Sabi Abdullahi (APC, Niger North) seconded the motion.
Senator Chukwuka Utazi nominated Senator Ike Ekweremadu for position of Deputy Senate President while Senator Rose Oko seconded the motion.
Senator Omo-Agege and Ekweremadu accepted their nominations and made brief speeches.

The outcome of the election shocked many political pundits considering the fact that Omo-Agege was the preferred candidate of the ruling APC, while Ekweremadu with vast legislative experience is the immediate past Deputy Senate President from the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP.