INEC Axes 74 Political Parties


The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has de-registered 74 political parties.

The commission took the decision after reviewing the performance of the parties following the 2019 General elections.

The electoral umpire said 18 political parties fulfilled the constitutional requirements for existence.

INEC Chairman, Prof. Mahmood Yakubu made the declaration at a news conference Thursday in Abuja.

Yakubu said the decision of the commission was in line with the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria as well as the Electoral Act 2010 (as amended).

Meanwhile, INEC has fixed September 19 for Edo and October 10 for the Ondo State governorship elections.