Four Overlapping Power Centres Emerge in Nigeria following Kyari’s Exit, Says Report

Power struggle
Power struggle

By Akanimo Sampson

The departure of the late Chief of Staff to President Muhammadu Buhari, Abba Kyari, who died of COVID-19, is changing the dynamics of policy making and implementation in the Presidency.

Excerpts from Nigeria Politics & Security, a weekly intelligence report on Nigeria by Menas Associates indicate that the numerous economy advisers and ministers in Abuja are working under a new order following the exit of President Buhari’s gatekeeper.

Menas Associates is, however, a political risk consultancy that provides actionable intelligence for its clients. It has also been helping multinational companies operate in the Middle-East, Africa and other emerging markets since the late 1970s.

According to its intelligence report on Nigeria, Kyari’s influence unofficially yet effectively extended to the economy and matters concerning the oil and gas sector, in addition to the political and security realms.

“There are now four overlapping power centres in Abuja,’’ the report says.

The Governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN), Godwin Emefiele, according to the report, has continued to issue policy pronouncements and directives reaching into the macro-economy, far beyond the traditional regulator’s remit.

“Finance and National Planning Minister, Zainab Ahmed, leads plans for additional borrowing and negotiations with international creditors. The Debt Management Office (DMO) has confirmed the rising debt and debt service burden.

“The Presidential Economic Advisory Council (EAC), led by Doyin Salami, is increasingly at odds with the CBN. The committee includes Deputy Petroleum Minister, Timpre Sylva, Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation’s (NNPC) Group Managing Director, Mele Kyari, and Finance Minister Ahmed.

“Vice President Yemi Osinbajo returns to the fray at the helm of the newly established Economic Sustainability Committee (ESC), created specifically to respond to the coronavirus threat.

“Osinbajo’s new committee adds to the already crowded space of economic advisers. Besides Ahmed, Sylva, Kyari, and Emefiele, the membership includes the following: Labour and Employment Minister Chris Ngige; Industry, Trade, and Investment Minister Niyi Adebayo; Humanitarian Affairs Minister Sadiya Farouq; Works and Housing Minister Babatunde Fashola.

READ ALSO:  COVID-19: Akwa Ibom Govt, ExxonMobil At Loggerheads Over Quarantine Centres

“Its broad composition suggests that President Buhari plans to take an inclusive approach to developing an economic sustainability plan to steer Nigeria until 2023. It also signals the return of Osinbajo to the centre stage of economic policy after his previous economic planning role was downgraded,’’ the intelligence report says.