Drama As 9 Imo Lawmakers Defect To APC

Imo House of Assembly
Imo House of Assembly

Less than one week after the swearing-in of Hope Uzodinma as the Imo governor, nine lawmakers of the Imo state House of Assembly, have defected to the All Progressives Congress, APC.

On March 7, 2019 governorship/House of Assembly held nationwide, APC did not win any seat into the state House of Assembly despite the fact that Rochas Okorocha was APC governor.

In the defection drama, Okey Onyekanma, the Deputy Speaker of the House, resigned his position.

The defection started around 3:30 p.m. when the Speaker of the House, read the letters of the defectors at the floor of the House.

Apart from the announcement of the defectors, the Speaker announced the screening of the Attorney-General of Imo State, Cyprian Akaolisa as appointed by the governor.