Buhari Replaces Old Service Chiefs With New Ones

President Muhammadu Buhari straightnews
President Muhammadu Buhari

New service chiefs have been appointed to replace the outgoing ones in Nigeria.

The Presidential media aide, Femi Adesina in a social media post on Tuesday tweeted that President Muhammadu Buhari has appointed new Military Service Chiefs, and congratulated the outgoing Service Chiefs for efforts of “enduring peace to the country.”

The National Assembly to sack Service Chiefs had passed a resolution urging the President to sack the service chiefs over rising insecurity in the county.

Adesina said: PMB appoints new Service Chiefs. Maj Gen LEO Irabor, CDS, Maj Gen I Attahiru, Army, Rear Adm AZ Gambo, Navy, AVM IO Amao, Air Force. He congratulates outgoing Service Chiefs on efforts to bring enduring peace to the country.”

“I have accepted the immediate resignation of the Service Chiefs, and their retirement from service. I thank them all for their overwhelming achievements in our efforts at bringing enduring peace to Nigeria, and wish them well in their future endeavours,” Buhari stated in a separate statement.

”I have also appointed new Service Chiefs, to replace the retired officers: Major-General Leo Irabor, Chief of Defence Staff; Major-General I. Attahiru, Chief of Army Staff; Rear Admiral A.Z Gambo, Chief of Naval Staff; Air-Vice Marshal I.O Amao, Chief of Air Staff,’’ the statement noted.

Recall that Chief of Defence Staff was General Abayomi Olonisakin; National Security Adviser, NSA, Major- General Mohammed Babagana Monguno; Chief of Army Staff, General Tukur Yusuf Buratai; Chief of Air Staff, Air Marshal Sadique Abubakar and Chief of Naval Staff, Vice Marshal Ibok- Ete Ibas.