Bayelsa Gov Election Results: APC May Coast To Victory

Diri, Lyon
Diri, Lyon

The Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, has so far announced results in the governorship election in seven of the eight local government areas of Bayelsa State.

Below is a breakdown of the results between the two contending parties, All Progressives Congress, APC, and the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP.

1 Ogbia 58,016 13,763
2 Yenagoa 24,607 19,184
3 Brass 23,831 10,410
4 Kolokuma/Opokuma 8,934 15,360`
5 Nembe LGA 83,041 874
6 Sagbama 7,831 60,339
7 Southern Ijaw 124,803 4,898

News Agency of Nigeria reports that the All Progressives Congress has so far won in the five local government areas, while the Peoples Democratic Party won in two.

Announcing the results by the Returning Officer for the election, Prof. Faraday Orumwense, Vice-chancellor, University of Benin, said in Ogbia, that APC pulled 58,016 votes to beat PDP that got 13,763 votes in the local government.

According to Orumwense, APC also won in Brass, Nembe, Ogbia, and Yenagoa, Southern Ijaw local government areas.

PDP leads in Sagbama and Kolokumo/Opokuma local government areas.

Mr Keme Jude, a resident, told NAN that the results so far announced was commendable, noting that with APC, a new Bayelsa would emerge.

“You see, people are already jubilating even when the total result has not been released.

”I know that our people already know that with the results so far announced, we are heading to a new Bayelsa.

NAN reports that seven out of the eight local government areas had so far been announced by INEC; APC won in five while PDP won in two.