APC’s Hammer Hangs On 2 Ministers Over Non-Inauguration Of Boards

APC Logo
APC Logo

Two Nigerian ministers are facing sanctions for contravening the directives of the National Executive Council of All Progressives Congress, APC, and the Presidency to all ministers to inaugurate boards under their ministries.

The Ministers who are Dr. Chris Ngige of Labour and Employment and Senator Hadi Sirika of Aviation are given one week to inaugurate the boards or face the party’s sanctions.

Angered by their action, Adams Oshiomhole, the National Chairman of APC, Thursday, read the riot act to them, describing the attitude as a great disrespect to the party.

In a letter dated July 11, 2018, and addressed to the ministers, Oshiomhole berated the ministers for failing to reconstitute the boards.

The letter reads, “This is to inform you that the attention of the National Working Committee has been drawn to your refusal to inaugurate members of the re-constituted Boards under the supervision of your Ministry.

“This contravenes the position of NEC, National Caucus and the Presidential Directives to all Ministers to inaugurate Boards of parastatals under their Ministries. We find this attitude as a disrespect to the President and disservice to our great party.

“The party will, henceforth, no longer tolerate any appointee of government at all level who continue to wilfully disregard lawful instructions from either the government or the party.
“In the light of the forging, you are, hereby, directed to inaugurate all the boards under your Ministry within one week, failure of which the party will take appropriate disciplinary measures against you.”