Akwa Ibom Son Appointed Secretary, APC Caretaker Committee

John James Udoedehe
John James Udoedehe

The National Executive Committee (NEC) of All Progressives Congress, APC, has appointed a 13-member Caretaker Committee with Yobe State Governor, Maimala Buni as its Chairman.

Buni, who is a former National Secretary of the party, was immediately sworn in by Abubakar Malami, the Minister of Justice and Attorney-General of the Federation, at the venue of Thursday’s NEC meeting, held at the Presidential Villa, Abuja.

Similarly, a prominent Akwa Ibom son and seasoned politician, Senator John James Akpan Udo-edehe has been appointed Secretary, APC Caretaker Committee.

John Udoedehe was elected Senator for the Akwa Ibom North-East Senatorial District (1999-2003), Minister of State in the FCT (2007-2008) and Governorship Candidate of the defunct Action Congress of Nigeria (2011), among others.

This follows the dissolution of the National Working Committee of the party by the party’s NEC.

The Chairman of the caretaker committee is also to serve as the Chairman of the planning committee of the party’s extra-ordinary convention, which should hold within 90 days, in line with the provisions of the APC constitution.

Thursday’s NEC meeting was an emergency one to save the party form the crisis it has been facing in the past few weeks, following the suspension of former National Chairman of the party, Adams Oshiomhole.

The dissolution of the National Working Committee and the inauguration of a caretaker committee followed the recommendation of President Muhammadu Buhari in his address at Thursday’s emergency NEC meeting, held at the Presidential Villa, Abuja.

The President also recommended the discontinuation of all litigations involving members of the party.

President Buhari said; “This is a very crucial moment in the life of our party and it is with a deep sense of concern that I stand to address you as the President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, who has been elected under the platform of our great party, the All Progressives Congress.

READ ALSO:  Some Of Our Signature Industries Have Become Comatose, A’Ibom NLC Alarms

“The issues currently confronting our party at this time are such that should worry every party member. At the moment, our party is faced with internal wrangling, there are ongoing litigations among some party members and we cannot clearly ascertain the position of certain NWC members”

“There are also other associated disputes as to the legitimacy or otherwise of holders of certain national offices of the party. The party is also contending with judicial claims and counterclaims, orders and counter orders and indeed judgments and counter judgments that are predominantly at cross purposes.

“Confronted with these issues, it is obvious that the fortunes of the party are currently in jeopardy, administration of our party is becoming impossible and there is consequently an urgent need for intervention to immediately arrest further drifts in the internal wrangling which may lead to total disintegration. This, my dear party members, is not only regrettable but utterly gut-wrenching.

“Therefore, giving this peculiar circumstance, I am convinced that we must take a very pragmatic and guided approach, to consolidate on the successes we have recorded and to ensure that we do not as a party lose our pride of place as a pacesetting political party in Nigeria,” President Buhari stated.

The President also requested the NEC to ratify the primary election of the party in Edo State, which produced Osagie Ize-Iyamu as the governorship candidate of the APC for the September 19 election in the State.

Below is the List of APC Caretaker Committee and Extra-Ordinary Convention Planning Committee:

  1. Governor Mai Mala Buni (Yobe) Chairman
  2. Isiaka Oyebola South West
  3. Ken Nnamani South East
  4. Stella Okorete – Women Rep
  5. Governor Sani Bello North Central
  6. James Lalu – Physically challenged
  7. Abubakar Yusuf – Senate
  8. Akinyemi Olaide – House
  9. David leon – South-South
  10. Abba Ari – North West
  11. Tahir Mamman – North East
  12. Ismail Ahmed – Youth
  13. Akpan Udoedehe – Secretary.