A‘Ibom Govt Bans 65 Cult Groups

The anti-cult war got a boost Monday, March 16, when Akwa Ibom State government formally proscribed 65 secret cult groups.

Signing the Cultism and Other Violent Behaviour (Prohibition) Order, 2020 into law, Governor Udom Emmanuel reiterated his administration’s commitment to maintaining the state’s record in safety, security and investor-friendliness, as well as ensuring a future for the Akwa Ibom youth.

Emmanuel, who penned the law during an emergency Executive Council meeting at the Executive Chambers, Government Hous,e Uyo, revoked the Cultism and other violent Behavior (Prohibition) Order, 2018, saying the new law has been expanded to cover components not covered in the previous law.

According to Him, “Cultism and other violent behavior (Prohibition) order, 2020, in the exercise of the powers conferred on me by section 70 of the Criminal Code Law, Cap. 38, Vol. 2, Laws of Akwa Ibom State, 2000 and all other powers enabling me in that behalf, I, Mr. Udom Emmanuel, the Governor of Akwa Ibom State of Nigeria do hereby make the following – order 1. (1): the cults, societies and groups listed herein are hereby declared unlawful and forthwith proscribed in Akwa lbom State.”

The proscribed cult groups are Vikings, Black Axe, KKK, Buccaneers, Mafia, Luttox (Junior Black Axe), Debam, Dewell, Icelanders, Red Skins, Pirates, Amoc, Akwa Marines and Utoto Groups (419).

In its avowed commitment to nip in the bud the invasion of cult groups in secondary and primary schools, the government declared under sub-paragraph (1), cults, groups or societies, illegal and forthwith.

The cults are The Luttox, the Red Skins, St. Stephens, Dewell, Sept 11 Group, Secret Sons of Satan, King Cobra, J.V. (Junior Vikings), Bats, Predators, Black Ladies, Black Cross, Scavengers, Skylolo, Sons of Nights; Blood Brotherhood, Junior Buccaneers, White Angels and Musket.

Others include Amazon Daughters of Queen Amina, Lion, Leo Lion, Neo Black Movement of Africa, Temple of Eden, Daughters of Jezebel, Black Brazier, Blood Suckers, Scorpion, Black Eye, Yellow Ribbon, Barracudas, Black Beret, the Dragon, and Red Devil.

READ ALSO:  Policemen Arrest 5 Suspects Over Delta Herdsmen Killings

The rest are Eyie, Sons of Nights, White Angels, Python, Black Sword, Supreme Dred Lock, Black Heart, Black Dagger, White Brothers, High Mafia, Street Mafia, Family Mafia, Supreme Red Skin, Italian Mafia, Separate Brothers Confraternity and Clansmen.

“Notwithstanding the provisions of paragraph 1 of the Order, any society or group by whatsoever name whose activities are found to be consistent with the activities of a cult shall be considered and treated as such under this Order,” the Governor stated.

He assured that defaulters would be prosecuted in accordance with the Offensive Weapon and Violent Behaviour (Prohibition) Law, 2004, or any other enabling law in that regard.