A’Ibom Assembly Elects New Speaker


A new Speaker emerged on Monday during an inaugural sitting of the 7th Akwa Ibom State House of Assembly.

He is Rt. Hon. Aniekan Bassey, representing Uruan State Constituency.

A motion to nominate him as speaker was moved by Rt. Hon. Nse Essien, member representing Onna State Constituency, and seconded by Rt. Hon. Mark Esset, representing Nsit Atai State Constituency.

Similarly, the house retained Rt. Hon. Felicia Bassey, representing Okobo State Constituency as its Deputy Speaker.

The nomination was made by Hon. Uduak Udoudo, member representing Ikot Abasi State Constituency and seconded by Rt. Hon. Emmanuel Bassey, representing Ini State Constituency.

In his acceptance speech, the Speaker, Bassey, thanked his colleagues for electing him as the speaker of the assembly even when he is not the best amongst them.

While commending the leadership of the immediate past assembly for its strides, the Speaker said it was the first time majority of the assemblymen are returning members.

He, however, announced Rt. Hon. Udo Kirian Akpan, representing Oruk Anam State Constituency as the Leader of the house and Rt. Hon. Dennis Akpan, Etinan State Constituency, as the Deputy Leader.

Rt. Hon. Emmanuel Bassey and Rt. Hon Nse Essien are Chief Whip and Deputy Chief Whip respectively.

The assembly resumed with 25 members instead of 26, as 14 of them are returning members.

Hon. Nse Ntuen, who allegedly won the last election to represent Essien Udim State Constituency at the house on the platform of the All Progressives Congress (APC) was no where to be found as he still has scores to settle with the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) in the state.