2019 Gov Race: APC Grabs 13 States, PDP Clinches 8 States So Far


The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) on Saturday, March 9, conducted governorship elections across 29 out of 36 states across Nigeria and state House of Assembly elections across the country.

So far, All Progressives Congress, APC has grabbed 13 states while Peoples Democratic Party, PDP has taken possession of eight states, according to INEC.

However, INEC has declared the elections in some states inconclusive.

A breakdown of 13 states won by the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) show:


Lagos, Babajide Sanwo-Olu (739,445)

Kwara, Abdulrahman Abdulrasaq (331,546)

Kebbi, Atiku Bagudu (673,717)

Jigawa, Muhammad Abubakar Badaru (810, 993)

Gombe, Muhammad Inuwa Yahaya (364, 179)

Niger, Abubakar Sani Bello (526,412)

Katsina, Aminu Bello Masari (1,178,864)

Nassarawa, Abdullahi Sule (327,229)

Yobe, Mai Mala Buni (444,013)

Ogun, Dapo Abiodun (241,670) Kaduna,

Nasiru El-Rufai (1,045,427)

Zamfara, Alhaji Mukhtar Shehu (534,541)

Borno, Professor Babagana Umara Zulum (1,175,440)


Abreakdown of eight states won by opposition Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) as announced by INEC so far are:

Oyo, Seyi Makinde (515, 621)

Enugu, Ifeanyi Uguwanyi (449,935)

Akwa Ibom, Emmanuel Udom (519,712)

Ebonyi, David Umahi (393,043)

Abia, Okezie Ikpeazu (261,127)

Cross River, Ben Ayade (381,484)

Delta, Ifeanyi Okowa (925, 274)

Imo, Emeka Ihedioha (273,404)

It was reported that INEC had suspended the electoral processes in Rivers state citing widespread irregularities.

In a statement signed by Festus Okoye, INEC’s national commissioner and chairman of information and voter education committee, the electoral body said its decision to suspend the elections was based on “reports from our officials in the field.”